The bipp desktop app allows you to easily manage all your SQL query files by organizing them as projects. A bipp project can be used to consolidate all the artefacts related to a data analysis or visualization requirement. It can contain the definitions of related datasets and data models that are required for visualizing data. In addition to this it can also contain related SQL queries in files. These SQL queries may be written with the intention of using them as part of data models or as standalone queries for analyzing results. The in-built query editor is a tool for writing, executing and testing queries before making them a part of the model. It also provides a test bed for testing changes to queries and debugging any issues encountered during visualization.
The desktop app provides access to the SQL files contained in all your projects so that you can add, edit and delete these files, execute and test queries and commit the changes to your project repository. Even if you are not creating advanced bipp data models, you can use it as a query editor with organization and versioning features to save and share queries with other members of your team. Let us now see how we can access and manage projects in the bipp desktop app.
The project’s listing screen is also the home screen of the desktop app.
The screen shows a list of all the projects that you can access in the current tenant. You can start working on an existing project or create a new project. The projects are listed with their names, datasources used, last updated date, name of the user who created the project and names of users who can access the project. There project context menu provides options to edit, delete and share projects with other users
You can search for a project using the free text search box at the top of the screen. Key in a few characters from the project name to filter the list and display the matching projects.
A single project may be shared with other users by clicking on the Permissions option in the context menu for the project. You can key in the email ID of the users with whom you want to share the project. You can also grant access type as Admin, Read and Write or Read Only. An email will be sent to these users inviting them to access the project.
Permissions may also be updated for multiple projects at a time. To do this select the projects using the checkboxes and then click on the Update Permissions button above the project list.
A project may be deleted by clicking on the Delete option in the context menu for the project. You will be asked to confirm the deletion and the projects list will be refreshed after deleting the project.
To delete multiple projects simultaneously check the corresponding checkboxes and click the Delete button above the projects list.
You can create a new bipp project by clicking on the New Project button at the top-right of the project listing screen. You will be asked to enter the name and GIT repository information for the project as shown.
You can use an existing GIT repository by providing the credentials to connect to it. Alternatively you could choose to use bipp’s local repository by clicking on the “I don’t have Git Repository” option. A new project will be created once you click on the “Create” button and the blank project editor screen will be shown to you.
A new project contains a default README.md file. You can get started by adding SQL query files to the project. To add a new query file, click on Add - New SQL Query in the Files menu. You will be asked to enter a name for the file. After this a new file tab will be added to the editor for you to start writing queries. You can learn all the details about SQL Editor features in our next section on SQL Editor.
When you want to close the project, save or commit your work by using the Save or Commit buttons available at the top right of the screen. Saving the file will only save it in the staging area in bipp and your work will not be committed to the repository. You can however access it online in the bipp web application. When you click Commit the file will be committed to the repository in the selected branch. A comment is required when committing changes to the project. My Branch is selected by default at the top left of the project screen. This implies the code will be committed to your branch of the repository.
Files checked in to your branch can be later pushed to the master. If many people are working on the same project, then the latest code from the master branch may be pulled by using the Pull from master option from the branch context menu. Similarly you can push the code in your branch to the master by using the Push to Master option from the branch context menu.
While working on one project, you can switch to another project by using the projects dropdown at the top-left of the screen. This will close the project that you are working on and open the chosen project. You can also create a new project by choosing the Create New Project option at the end of the projects dropdown. Existing projects may also be edited by opening them from the projects listing screen.
The last saved version of the project will be shown when a project is opened for editing. You can then continue working on the project by adding new files and editing/deleting existing files. Ensure that you save or commit your work at the end of every session or before switching projects.
History of all changes or the different versions of the project may be accessed by clicking on the History button at the top right of the screen.
IN THIS PAGE