The settings screen allows you to access and manage various metadata elements that are required to create, edit and execute SQL query files using bipp Desktop. You can access this screen by clicking on the profile icon at the top-right of the application header.
The settings screen contains the following tabs to control different
The profile tab allows you to view general information about your profile like Name, email, current tenant name and permissions. You can also change your password on this tab.
The tenant settings tab allows you to view the list of tenants that you can access. You can switch to another tenant by clicking on the context menu for that tenant clicking on Select.
You can also edit the tenant name and subdomain name for any of the tenants where you have creator permissions. For this click on the context menu for that tenant clicking on Edit. The information can be edited in the Edit Tenant dialog box shown.
The “Users” tab is only available when you are in your own domain. Your name will always be listed on this screen with
CREATOR permissions. Additionally all other users who have access to resources in the current tenant will be listed on this screen.
You can also invite other users to your tenant by clicking on the “Add New User(s)" button at the top right of the screen. Multiple users may be invited to join your tenant using the “Add New Users” pop-up as shown below.
Once the other users accept the invitation, their names would be included on the “Users” screen on the “Users” tab. Any pending invitations would be listed on the “Pending Invitations” tab.
Permissions for invited users may be changed from the Users screen. A user may also be removed from the domain, by deleting the user on the “Users” screen. This will disable all access that the deleted user had on all objects in the domain.
The Datasources tab allows you to configure and manage datasources. A datasource is a connection that allows you to connect to different types of databases including online databases and Excel. bipp allows connections to the following different databases.
- SQL Server 2017+
- MySQL 5.7+
- Impala 5.x+
- Teradata 15.x+
- Hive 2.x.x+
- Postgres 9.x+
- Snowflake 3.27+
- Oracle 12c+
- mongoDB 3.2+
- MS Excel
The datasources already configured can be seen on the datasources tab as shown.
In order to add a new Datasource, users should click the “New Datasource” button available at the top-right of the screen. A pop-up screen to specify the name and type for the datasource followed by the database credentials will be shown.
A new datasource will be created once all the required information is entered and the “Create” button clicked.
To check if the newly created database connection is working, users can ping the datasource by using the “Ping” option from the options menu at the right of the datasource name. Depending on the status of the connection one of the following messages would be shown.
You can search for an existing datasource in the list by keying in the name of the datasource in the “Search” box at the top of the screen.
An existing datasource or connection settings may be changed by clicking on the “Edit” option from the datasource options menu. This will show the datasource connection settings pop-up with existing settings pre-populated.
Users can share the datasources they have added with other users in their team, organization or network. This can be achieved using the “Permissions” option in the datasource options menu.
Users are required to key in the email-id’s of co-workers with whom they wish to share the datasource. (The co-worker should already be part of the users bipp network.) Alternatively a group name may also be entered for sharing with all members of a specific group.
Permissions may be categorized into 3 types.
- Admin - Full control over shared Datasource including delete permission
- Read and Write - Ping and Edit permissions over shared datasource
- Read Only - Only connect permissions on the shared datasource.
Related projects and sheets will also get shared on sharing a datasource.
Permissions for multiple datasources can be updated simultaneously by selecting them and then clicking on the “Update Permissions” button available at the top of the Datasources list.
Users can delete an existing connection or datasource using the “Delete” option on the datasource options menu. The datasource will be deleted after confirmation.
To delete multiple datasources at the same time, select them and click on the “Delete” button displayed above the checkboxes.
The projects tab is shown when the settings are accessed from the projects screen. The contents of this tab are the same as the Home screen. It allows you to manage your projects list, create a new project or edit another project.
IN THIS PAGE